Welcome to the Department of Pharmacology in the UC Davis School of Medicine. The Department comprises a dynamic group of faculty, researchers and students from diverse backgrounds undertaking investigations to reveal biological mechanisms that will ultimately lead to discovery of novel understanding of physiological and pathological mechanisms, identification of potential therapeutic targets and development of new strategies for a variety of human diseases.

The Department is led by Chair Donald Bers, Ph.D. and the Executive Advisory Group that includes Johannes W. Hell, Ph.D. (Vice-Chair for Academic Development), Crystal M. Ripplinger, Ph.D., (Vice-Chair for Research and Administration) and Heike Wulff, Ph.D. (Vice-Chair for Education). The Pharmacology Department is part of the basic biomedical sciences in the School of Medicine. The Department and its Faculty have strong connections with multiple UC Davis Graduate Groups, other Departments (in multiple colleges) and Research Centers constituting a powerful interactive high-quality research team. The faculty are also committed to excellence in teaching and service (both at UC Davis and beyond). UC Davis Pharmacology is one of the nation's top ranked pharmacology departments in federal research funding and hosts a diverse group of postdoctoral trainees and graduate students from different Graduate Groups.

Two of the strongest research areas within the Department are Cardiovascular and Neuroscience at multiple levels, and in a highly collaborative environment of considerable international reputation. Along with other research areas, our work is unified by a common goal - to understand mechanistically the critical building blocks of biological systems from molecules to cells and organ systems, in health and disease, and to identify components that can be modified through pharmacology or other therapeutic strategies to cure disease. Please visit our Research Overview page and Faculty Research pages for details of ongoing work in the individual Departmental laboratories.

Spotlight on Our Pharmacology Team

Department Chair Dr. Don Bers was appointed as an Executive Editor

Donald M. Bers, Ph.D.

We are proud to announce that our Department Chair Dr. Don Bers was appointed as an Executive Editor for the recently founded journal of the American Physiological Society called FUNCTION. This appointment is a reflection of Dr. Bers’ standing amongst his peers and many contributions to the scientific community. Congratulations to Dr. Bers on this accomplishment!

2021 Graduate Studies Distinguished Graduate and Postdoctoral Mentoring Award

Eleonora Grandi, Ph.D.

Congratulations to Dr. Ele Grandi who has been awarded with 2021 Graduate Studies Distinguished Graduate and Postdoctoral Mentoring Award! This award is given to faculty who have been recognized as providing an outstanding mentoring role to graduate students and postdoctoral scholars.

Dr. Wulff Awarded the 2021 C. John Tupper Prize for Excellence in Teaching

Heike Wulff, Ph.D.

We are extremely excited to announce that Dr. Heike Wulff has been honored with the 2021 C. John Tupper Prize for Excellence in Teaching Award! This distinguished award is given to one faculty member each year who has been recognized for their exceptional work and accomplishments in the area of teaching; this is the highest award for teaching which the School of Medicine can bestow. Dr. Wulff’s dedication to her students, lab members, and peers is extraordinary, and thus this honor is more than well-deserved.

Pharm Pre/Postdoc students excelling in acquiring AHA funding

We are excited for all our pre and postdoctoral students who received highly competitive AHA Pre and Postdoctoral Fellowships. These awards reflect the passion, dedication, initiative, effort and commitment of our trainees. They also highlight the high relevant projects that are conceive, develop and perform by our trainees. We are very proud to celebrate these major accomplishments of our junior colleagues!


  • Xianwei Zhang (predoc) from Grandi Lab
  • Haibo Ni (postdoc) from Grandi Lab


  • Miguel A. Martin Aragon Baudel (postdoc) from Navedo Lab
  • Jessica Caldwell (postdoc) from Ripplinger Lab
  • Ying Wang (postdoc) from Xiang Lab
  • Chaoqun Zhu (postdoc) from Xiang Lab